George Herbert W. Bush

George Bush (senior)

George Bush full name George Herbert Walker Bush, born. June 12, 1924, Milton, pieces. Massachusetts is an American politician, 41st President of the United States (1989-1993).

Born into a family of banker and Senator Prescott Bush of Connecticut. During World War II, served as a pilot in the Pacific torpedo, carried out 58 sorties. In 1944 he was shot down by the Japanese. He graduated from Yale University (1948), worked in the oil business in Texas. Was a member of the House of Representatives from the Republicans (1966-1970), U.S. Representative to the United Nations (1971-1972), chairman of the Republican National Committee (1973-1975), and head of the U.S. diplomatic mission in China (1974-1976), Director of the CIA (1976 – 1977).


In 1980, at the Republican Convention yielded to Ronald Reagan. In the presidential election in 1980 was elected vice-president (1981-1989), succeeded Reagan as president, winning the election in 1988 of Michael Dukakis. Overall, George Bush (senior) followed Reagan’s political course. In 1989, ordered the military invasion of Panama to overthrow the government of General Manuel Noriega. The central event in the foreign policy of President George Bush (senior) was the war in the Persian Gulf, the cause of which was the occupation of Kuwait by Iraq. Bush promoted the introduction of the approved UN embargo against Iraq (1990), and when Iraq refused to withdraw its troops from the occupied country, sanctioned military operation “Desert Storm” to liberate Kuwait (1991).

During the George Bush (senior) presidency, the socialist camp collapsed, the Soviet Union collapsed – the main strategic adversary U.S. in the second half of the 20th century. Despite the successes in foreign policy, the economic downturn in the U.S. economy predestined defeat George Bush (senior) in the 1992 election of Bill Clinton. The eldest son of Bush – George W. Bush in 1994, was elected governor of Texas, and in 2000 – the U.S. president. Another son – Jeb Bush was elected governor of Florida (1998).